Friday, September 30, 2011

The Human Centipede...Disgusting Gross-out Movie or Pure Artistry?

For those of you who don't know, or have heard about this movie but have never seen it, "The Human Centipede" is a movie directed by Tom Six.  This movie is 100% medically accurate.  Over the past year, it has been pinned as "one of the sickest movies of all time."  Tom Six has stated that he has "even gotten death threats on facebook about it."  For those of you who don't know what this movie is about, here is the synopsis thanks to IMDB:
Two pretty but ditsy American girls are on a road trip through Europe. In Germany, they end up alone at night with a broken car in the woods. They search for help and find an isolated villa. The next day, they awaken to find themselves trapped in a terrifying makeshift basement hospital along with a Japanese man. An older German man identifies himself as a retired surgeon specialized in separating Siamese twins. However, his three "patients" are not about to be separated but joined together in a horrific operation. He plans to be the first person to connect people via their gastric systems. By doing so, he plans to bring to life his sick lifetime fantasy, the human centipede.


You can see by reading the description why people would call this "one of the sickest movies of all time." but the fact is, none of the parts involving corprophilia are shown on screen.  Everything is in your head.  You know what's happening and you're imagining it as it was you that was being connected ass to mouth with three other people.  The operation isn't even shown on camera, nor are the people's mouths connected to the other person's ass. In my opinion its pure artistry.  The fact that someone can make a movie, and most of the disturbing parts aren't even onscreen, yet it can still be pinned as disgusting and be banned in a number of countries is amazing to me.  The best part of the whole this is the mere fact that it is 100% medically accurate.


Now, Tom Six is releasing a sequel to "The Human Centipede", and my opinion is that he's doing it just to show the world that he can make something even more disgusting.  the first film is supposed to be like "My Little Pony compared to the first film."  To give you an idea of what this film will be about:
Martin is a mentally disturbed loner who lives with his mother in a bleak housing project. He works the night shift as a security guard in an equally grim and foreboding underground parking complex. To escape his dreary existence, Martin loses himself in the fantasy world of the cult horror film The Human Centipede (First Sequence), fetishizing the meticulous surgical skills of the gifted Dr. Heiter, whose knowledge of the human gastrointestinal system inspires Martin to attempt the unthinkable. 


This film is all shot in black and white, which, in my opinion may add to the artistry behind the movie, giving it a more dreary like effect.  The only thing I'm not looking forward to in this film is the fact that Ashlynn Yennie is a part of the Pede.  This makes no sense to me, seeing as she was casted in the first film, but we'll see how Mr. Six pulls it off!  Very excited.




Comments/Opinions?!?!






<3

What the F*ck is Common Sense?

I always told my father, "I hate people that have no common sense.  It's annoying!"  But one night, while my family was out to dinner, he posed a question.  He said,
"Well, what really is common sense?"
So I thought about it for a minute, and I realized that i could not produce a definition for "common sense", so I replied with, "well i guess it's like a 'look before you cross the street' kinda thing.  If you don't look before you cross the street, you may get run over."
My dad said to me, "yeah, but a two year old doesn't know this."
So then came the question, "where does common sense come from?"
My answer was, "um, your parents.  If you have a parent that's a total dipshit, then most likely, that's how your kid is gonna be."
So now we get down to the root of it all.  What the fuck is common sense?
Common sense, as described by Merriam-Webster, is defined as beliefs or propositions that most people consider prudent and of sound judgement, without reliance on esoteric knowledge or study or research, but based upon what they see as knowledge held by people "in common". Thus "common sense" (in this view) equates to the knowledge and experience which most people already have, or which the person using the term believes that they do or should have.
So, basically this means that common sense is the shit that you should just know and not have to think about.  We can also refer to some more humorous definitions as defined by urbandictionary.com. 
As defined by user "Metropolitan Gray":

Common Sense:
1) Something the general populous of Earth lacks.
2) The ability to discern what is right and what is wrong.
3) The ability to discern what is intelligent and what is stupid.
The blaming of obesity on fast-food restaurants and not on people who should know that fatty food makes you fat.

Basically common sense is knowledge that you think others should know, and if they don't then you perceive them as being stupid.

Now we come to our next question: who has common sense? My belief is that everyone has some common sense to a certain extent.  Some people may be dumber than others, but each person has at least the tiniest bit of common sense.  For example, everyone know what's right and whats wrong.  Some people just choose to do what is wrong, leading the general public to believe that they lack common sense.

Now, we come to our third and final question, "where does common sense come from?"  My opinion is, exactly like i said earlier.  It is a parent's job to instill knowledge into their child's brain.  Part of that is by giving you child common sense.  In other words, if someone is a total idiot, most likely, their kid is going to be too.  Children learn by doing, and also by what they see others doing, and since the parents (or whom ever is raising the child) are the biggest influence on most children, I can come to the conclusion that the parent is the most direct reason for a child/person's lack of common sense.  But you can't put ALL the blame on the parents.  Children have babysitters, teachers, they are also influenced by other children.  I just put most of the blame on the child's parents/guardians because they have the most direct contact with the child.

Opinions/comments?

<3